Typing and Such…

Curiouser and Curiouser

I’m on my way to Barnes & Noble with a 20% off coupon in-hand. Barnes & Noble is one of my Happy Places. I’m going with something specific in mind today: a book like an address book, but it’s for websites where you have to log in with a user name and password. Who knew that anyone else would want the same user name as me – and want it first! And passwords? You can’t use what you’d remember. You have to use special characters and capitalize in places that make_noSense. Too many now to remember, so I need to buy a Code Book. The first code book I had was in grade school. It told you how to make up codes. It was one of those books you order from a hand-out at school. I think it was Scholastic Books. I used the codes for notes to friends. 🙂  When at Barnes & Noble I don’t spend much time in the Serious parts of the store.  You know…business, non-fiction and self-help. I go to Fiction, Science Fiction/Fantasy and the Children’s section. I was actually writing a Sci-Fi children’s book with my neighbor/BFF the summer between 6th and 7th grades. It remained un-titled (and un-finished), but it kept us out of trouble. We would sit on her bedroom floor, each with a manual typewriter in front of us, and write alternate chapters. She would write evens and I would write odds. Or vice versa. We would just let each other know how our chapter would end so the next chapter would continue in that thread. I learned how to type that summer. Sort of. My two index fingers learned where the keys were anyway. I remember my favorite word was “better”. Because you could type it fast with just one finger. The first book I read that I would consider to be Science Fiction/Fantasy was Alice in Wonderland. It had the “old” illustrations in it. The creepy ones. I.loved.them. Who knew that would be genetic? My daughter is almost done making her first quilt for her first baby. A girl. The quilt has those old Alice in Wonderland illustrations on some of the fabrics. Maybe Alice is where I first fell in love with costuming. You know…the Mad Hatter. The Queen of Hearts and the White Rabbit. And Alice. Looking through key holes. Curiouser and curiouser. Which you can’t spell quickly with one finger. That’s why I like better, well…better. Is “curiouser” even a word? I don’t think so. That would be a good reason to use it as a password. I should write that down. It would be better than the one I already have. Much better. Better that I thought of it now. Even now, when I type with two hands, better is still good. No…it’s even better.

This entry was posted in Whimsy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Typing and Such…

  1. bev says:

    Love your writing. Did you find a code book?

    • cnewby says:

      I did find the book I was looking for and would fill it up with the info I need if I could only remember all the places I need the info! So, I slowly enter my sites with my coded codes. LOL!

  2. Margie says:

    You’d better put your codes in that book! The trick is to remember the secret hints that remind you of the passwords and not to actually write them down. Like…I know exactly what dead cat anniversary means! LOL!
    I can just picture you and your friend sitting at your typewriters and writing chapters to a book! Do you still have the chapters?

Leave a Reply

